Brown Sugar and Spicy Soy Sesame Dressing

Leave a comment

August 12, 2012 by hoosieroutwest

Did you know you can make your own brown sugar?

You may be thinking, duh, but I never really thought about it. Then I tried to make this yummy salad dressing and about halfway through mixing up the ingredients I realized I had no brown sugar.

homemade brown sugar

homemade brown sugar

Now most cooks will tell you that you should check all your ingredients before starting to cook a recipe, and I usually do that but was 100% sure I had everything and just decided to start without checking.

Never fear! Brown sugar is super easy to make at home. After a little internet research I stumbled upon how to make homemade brown sugar.

sugar and molasses

You just mix one cup of regular granulated sugar with 2-3 tablespoons of molasses. If you want dark brown sugar just add more molasses. Just mix it until you think your arm is going to fall off and all the molasses ‘balls’ disappear.

That’s it, couldn’t be easier!

Now, on to the delicious salad dressing I was making in the first place. I’m a huge fan of balsamic vinaigrette but have started to get a little sick of it. After perusing the web I stumbled upon this recipe, the best part? I already had most of the ingredients at home.

simple dressing ingredients

It’s super simple and tastes great, in fact it’s the easiest way to get Greg to eat the mounds of lettuce we get from the CSA.

tada, finished dressing

Spicy Soy Sesame Dressing

adapted from Rasa Malaysia

Spicy Soy Sesame Dressing Printable

¼ cup low sodium soy sauce

½ cup brown sugar

¼ cup toasted sesame oil

2 tablespoons almond butter

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon rice vinegar

1-2 tablespoons red pepper flakes

Mix all ingredients together, give it a good whisk and pour over mixed greens.

Leave a Reply

Nosh Your Average Blog

what I do while you're at work

Seattle, Washington, Pacific Northwest

Beer & Brewery News & Info

Have Growler, Will Travel

The woman, the myth, the legend. This is her Beer Blog.

Simple Bites

what I do while you're at work

Foodie's Arsenal

what I do while you're at work

Food in Jars

what I do while you're at work

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

