Blueberries in Syrup

1

August 21, 2012 by hoosieroutwest

I could eat blueberries all day everyday. I like them plain, in pie, in tarts, as syrup on pancakes or as jam spread on anything. Greg on the other hand, not a big fan. This works in my favor because it means I don’t have to share any of the canned blueberries I’ve made.

picking berries

A girlfriend and I tried our hand at blueberry picking. What we didn’t know when we went on our adventure is that blueberry picking is a TON of work. After an hour picking I only had 2 pounds (my goal was 10 for the day). The berries below are some lovelies I got at the local market. After our little adventure I don’t mind paying for someone else to pick berries for me.

delicious blue orbs, noms

My first berry project was simple, berries in syrup. I’m thinking nothing will be better on a rainy cold Seattle winter day than warm blueberry pie. So this one is headed to the back of the pantry to be enjoyed in the wintertime.

measuring headspace

I have a feeling that when I do pull these babies out to make pie I’ll quickly turn Greg into a blueberry eater – but I’m hoping he’ll turn it down and I’ll have it all to myself! You can also use these babies on and in pancakes and on ice cream but mine are destined for pie.

Blueberries in Syrup

adapted from Food in Jars by Marisa McClellan

Blueberries in Syrup Printable

Makes about 4 pints

1 cup sugar

4 pounds blueberries

Prepare for water-bath canning: Sterilize the jars and keep them hot in the canning pot, put lids in heatproof bowl.

In a large saucepan, combine the sugar with 3 cups of water and bring to a simmer.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and blanch the berries for 30 seconds. Drain them well and pour the berries into the saucepan with the syrup. Stir to combine.

Ladle boiling water from the canning pot into the bowl with the lids. Using a jar lifter, remove the sterilized jars from the canning pot, carefully pouring the water from each one back into the pot, and place them upright on a folded towel. Drain the water off the lids.

Ladle the fruit and syrup into the prepared jars, leaving ½ inch of headspace. Make sure that the fruit is submerged in the syrup. Gently tap the jars on a towel-lined countertop to help loosen any air bubbles, add additional syrup if necessary.

Use a damp paper towel to wipe the rims of the jars, then put a flat lid and ring on each jar, adjusting the ring so that it’s just finger-tight.

Return the jars to the water in the canning pot, making sure the water covers the jars by at least 1 inch. Bring to a boil and boil for 15 minutes to process. Remove the jars to a folded towel and do not disturb for 12 hours.

After 1 hour, check that the lids have sealed by pressing down on the center of each lid. If it can be pushed down it hasn’t sealed and the jar should be refrigerated immediately. Label the sealed jars and store in a cool dark place.

One thought on “Blueberries in Syrup

  1. JoAnne Snyder says:

    Lindsey…..I just want to know how you are going to get all your jars home for everyone for the holidays???? I’m very impressed and hungry…….your great grandmother would be very proud!!!!

Leave a Reply

Nosh Your Average Blog

what I do while you're at work

Washington Beer Blog

Beer News and Information

Have Growler, Will Travel

The woman, the myth, the legend. This is her Beer Blog.

Simple Bites

Whole food for the family table.

what I do while you're at work

Food in Jars

what I do while you're at work

