Potato Leek Soup

3

October 1, 2012 by hoosieroutwest

I have read recipes involving leeks, eaten them out at restaurants and seen them in the store but had never had one in the house before. My CSA made sure to change that. We received a leek two weeks in a row in our share so I was forced to use them. Thankfully we also received potatoes.

well hello mr. leek

Since it started to get a little chilly out here in the Pacific NW I decided it was time to try my hand at Potato Leek Soup. Turns out it’s really easy and quite yummy.

leeks all nice and tender

If you’re like me you try to get everything ready for a recipe before you begin, especially if there is down time during the recipes – that way you can sit on the couch instead of hanging out in the kitchen.

old latke trick

Here’s a little trick I learned as a kid cooking latkes with my mom. If you put cut potatoes in water they won’t turn brown. Since the leeks take a while to get tender I prepped the rest of the ingredients and then went back to the living room to finish watching my trashy TV.

One more side note for this recipe, it calls for buttermilk but don’t go out and buy some if you don’t normally use it. If you have regular milk in the house I have a little trick for you!

sneaky fake buttermilk

I’m not sure where I picked this up but if you have milk and an acid (white vinegar or lemon juice work best) you can make your own buttermilk. The ratio is 1 cup of milk to 1 tablespoon of lemon juice but I’ve also halved and doubled the recipe with no issues. Just mix the milk and acid together and let it sit for about 20 minutes. When you come back to it it’ll be a little chunky – that means it’s ready to go!

This soup is great freshly made but can also be reheated. You’ll probably have to mix it up a bit as it may separate. Enjoy!

Potato Leek Soup

adapted from Oxbow Farms CSA Newsletter

Potato Leek Soup Printable

Prep time: 10 min

Total time: 60 min

2 leeks, cleaned and dark green sections removed

3 tablespoons butter

Kosher salt

4 Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and quartered

4 cups chicken broth

½ cup fat free half and half

½ cup buttermilk

½ teaspoon white pepper

Chop the leeks into small pieces. In a large saucepan melt the butter over medium heat. Add leeks and a heavy pinch of salt and sweat for 5 minutes.

Reduce heat to medium-low and cook until the leeks are tender, approximately 25 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the potatoes and the chicken broth increase the heat to medium-high, and bring to a boil.

Reduce the heat to low, cover, and gently simmer until the potatoes are soft, about 30 minutes. Remove from heat and puree in batches in a blender (or immersion blender if you have one).

Stir in the half and half, buttermilk and white pepper. Taste and adjust seasoning if desired.

3 thoughts on “Potato Leek Soup

  1. Jan & George Rodgers says:

    That looks like a delicious recipe and I think I’ll try it on Geo.  Have a great week and keep me posted re: job – a -rooney..

    Jan

  2. Debbie Geller says:

    I love potato leek soup. one of my favorites even though I never made it myself. How nice-you did learn one cooking skill from me-potatoes in water. Love you

  3. inherchucks says:

    This looks delicious! I had never had leeks until I joined my CSA and now I look forward to receiving them 🙂

    Come and add your recipe to this week’s CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/27/whats-in-the-box-45/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

Nosh Your Average Blog

what I do while you're at work

Washington Beer Blog

Beer News and Information

Have Growler, Will Travel

The woman, the myth, the legend. This is her Beer Blog.

Simple Bites

Whole food for the family table.

what I do while you're at work

Food in Jars

what I do while you're at work

