Roasted Beets

1

November 7, 2012 by hoosieroutwest

Yes, it has been entirely too long since I’ve added a post. My apologies! You see when I started this blog I was unemployed and now I have a contract gig. So I’m still figuring out how to balance work, cooking and the blog. It’s a little tricky so please be patient!

beets pre-roasting

In the meantime I have become obsessed with beets. We’ve been receiving them almost weekly in our CSA and it’s made me a happy camper. I have mainly been roasting them, which I love because it’s no fuss and then the beets can be used in multiple dishes throughout the week.

beets post roasting

I’ve been roasting as many beets as I can get my hands on. Then I slice them and throw them in the refrigerator to be eaten throughout the week. Lucky for me, Greg isn’t a fan of beets – more for me! The only down side is the dreaded red hand of death you get from peeling them.

red hand of death

Don’t worry, most of the redness washes off and your hand will be completely back to normal by the next day, if not sooner. If you’re super concerned you can always wear gloves when you peel them but I generally save the gloves for cutting spicy peppers.

ready for a week’s worth of lunches

Eat these beets anyway you want! I generally eat a bunch while slicing them for the fridge. Those that make it to the refrigerator then find themselves added to salads, sandwiches or just tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper, goat cheese and tomatoes.

beet, tomato and goat cheese salad

I’m providing a recipe but it’s so simple that I feel silly even typing it up. Enjoy!

Roasted Beets

Roasted Beets Printable

2 bunches of beets (or whatever you have on hand)

Preheat oven to 400°. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil. Scrub beets and remove greens.

Place beets on cookie sheet, wrap cookie sheet & beets with aluminum foil to form a sealed packet.

Roast beets in oven for 1 – 1½ hours. At the one hour mark stick a fork in one of the beets. If the fork tines go in easily the beets are done. If not continue to cook, checking the beets every 15-20 minutes, until fork tines are easily inserted into beets.

When the beets are tender remove from oven. Remove the top sheet of aluminum foil (be careful of hot air trapped in the foil) and allow beets to cool. Once beets are cool enough to handle you should be able to peel the skin from the beets. Remove skin, slice and enjoy!

One thought on “Roasted Beets

  1. Tammy says:

    I love this. I also threw some into the freezer after roasting so looking forward to seeing how that works.

Leave a Reply

Nosh Your Average Blog

what I do while you're at work

Washington Beer Blog

Beer News and Information

Have Growler, Will Travel

The woman, the myth, the legend. This is her Beer Blog.

Simple Bites

Whole food for the family table.

what I do while you're at work

Food in Jars

what I do while you're at work

