Good Morning Breakfast Casserole

Leave a comment

January 22, 2013 by hoosieroutwest

I am not a morning person, I don’t even pretend to be. Most people know that it’s better for everyone if I have a cup of coffee when I first get up. In fact, I budget time to sit and wake up into my daily schedule.

bacon, makes everything better

bacon, makes everything better

So what makes me have a good morning? Bacon and knowing that breakfast is already ready to go before I even wake up. Over holiday break I made this delicious breakfast casserole – you really can’t go wrong, it’s all the best breakfast ingredients in one dish.

veggies are ready to go

veggies are ready to go

One of the best aspects of this dish is that you can make it the night before and just toss it in the oven the next morning. Even better – you can make this casserole in individual sized containers and freeze it – then you just cook it as you want it.

Unfortunately I did not take pictures when I made it the first time – I wish I had. It was perfect, nice and golden brown on top. The day I decided to take pictures I assembled the casserole the night before and planned on serving it for breakfast on a weekday.

ready for the oven

ready for the oven

What I didn’t factor in was preheating the oven. So by the time the dish was done Greg and I were just about out the door so we threw it into microwavable containers and took it to work to eat – hence no finished product pictures. Use your imagination!

Good Morning Breakfast CasseroleGood Morning Breakfast Casserole Printable

adapted from The Kitchn

Makes 6-8 servings

6 slices of bacon, cut into strips about ½ inch wide (I used turkey bacon)

1 large onion, peeled and diced

1 bell pepper, cleaned out and diced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

2 teaspoons salt, divided

1 container of egg beaters (approximately 8 eggs)

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon black pepper

2 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese

3 cups frozen hash brown potatoes

Heat the oven to 350°. Lightly grease a 13×9” baking dish with baking spray.

Put the bacon slices in a large skillet and turn the heat on to medium. Cook the bacon, stirring occasionally, until it’s crisp. Add the onion, bell pepper, garlic and 1 teaspoon of salt, and cook over medium heat until all the vegetables are fragrant and soft – about 5 minutes. Turn off heat and let cool slightly.

In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs and milk thoroughly. Whisk in the remaining salt and pepper. Stir in the cheese, potatoes, and the bacon and vegetables from the skillet. Pour the whole mixture into the prepared baking dish.

When ready to bake the casserole, bake for 40-50 minutes, or until the eggs are firm and the top is golden. A knife inserted in the center should come out clean. Serve immediately.

Notes:

Casserole can be made and refrigerated for up to 24hrs. Take casserole out of refrigerator while oven is preheating and cook per instructions.

Leave a Reply

Nosh Your Average Blog

what I do while you're at work

Washington Beer Blog

Beer News and Information

Have Growler, Will Travel

The woman, the myth, the legend. This is her Beer Blog.

Simple Bites

Whole food for the family table.

what I do while you're at work

Food in Jars

what I do while you're at work

